Award and Grant Opportunities – There’s Still Time to Apply!

By: FAC Network Participant

Topic: Meetings / Events Planning Resilience Wildfire

Type: Tools / Resources

The weather is getting hotter and many of us are getting ready for what the wildfire season will bring. But if there is still time in your schedule, here are a few funding and award opportunities available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that are worth considering:

The first opportunity is through the Individual and Community Preparedness Awards program (formerly the Citizen Corps Achievement Awards). This is a national recognition program that highlights innovative local practices and achievements by recognizing individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions toward making their communities safer, stronger, better prepared and more resilient.

State, local, tribal and territorial government officials and organizations may submit an awards application on behalf of themselves or others. This includes tribal councils, mayors, local emergency managers, local emergency planning councils, homeland security task forces, civic or volunteer committees, registered Citizen Corps Councils, Community Emergency Response Teams [CERTs]) and Citizen Corps Partner Programs and affiliates. Organizations and individuals not officially affiliated with Citizen Corps may submit an awards application on behalf of themselves or another.  The deadline for award submissions is May 30, 2014 by 11:59 P.M. ET. The applicant’s activities, initiatives or programs must have occurred between buy ambien in la January 1, 2013 and May 30, 2014 to be considered for a 2014 FEMA Individual and Community Preparedness Award.

FEMA is also currently accepting applications for its 2014 Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Grant Program. The PDM program provides funds for hazard mitigation planning and implementation on an annual basis, and was set in place to reduce overall risk to people and structures, while also reducing reliance on federal funding if an actual disaster were to occur. The total amount of funds distributed for the 2014 cycle will be $23 million. Eligible applicants are states, territories, commonwealths and Indian Tribal governments. Eligible sub-applicants are state agencies, Indian Tribal governments and local governments/communities.

Potential PDM applicants should consult the Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Unified Guidance.  For more information on eligibility and application guidance, applicants are encouraged to contact their FEMA Regional Office. Grant applications must be submitted through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https:/ no later than 3:00 PM ET on July 25, 2014.

To learn about other grants and funding opportunities, including Fire Prevention and Safety Grants, the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, and Regional FEMA Grants, visit the Fire Adapted Communities Info and Resources webpage.

Want to republish this story? Please contact us.

Leave a Reply

Per our policy comments are manually approved by a website administrator and may take some time to appear. Your email address will not be published when you comment.

Required fields are marked with an asterisk.