CUSP Neighborhood Chipping, Central CO April 2015. Photo Credit: CUSP

Congratulations Wildfire Mitigation Awardees!

By: Emily Troisi

Topic: Fuels treatment / Prescribed fire Other Resilience Wildfire

Type: Success Story / Lessons Learned

The 2016 Wildfire Mitigation Awardees announced last week feature four organizations and individuals connected to the FAC Net. The award is jointly sponsored by the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the USDA Forest Service (USFS).

There are three award categories, and FAC Net affiliates were featured in all three.

The Austin Fire Department had this to say on their Facebook page:

Congratulations to the folks in our Austin Fire Dept.-Wildfire Division, who will receive a 2016 Fire Service Leadership Award at the IAFC – International Association of Fire Chiefs’ Wildland-Urban Interface Conference (WUI) in Reno, Nevada on March 9, 2016. This is a huge honor and we are humbled and grateful to be chosen. The real winners, however, are the engaged and active citizenry we serve and support, who will be ready WHEN, not IF, the next wildfire occurs.

CUSP had a congratulatory post for Jonathan on their website:

Congratulations to our own Jonathan Bruno for winning a 2016 Wildfire Mitigation Innovation Award! This is the highest national honor one can receive for outstanding work and significant program impact in wildfire preparedness and mitigation.

FireWise of Southwest Colorado had a congratulatory statement on their Facebook page for all of the awardees in Colorado:

CONGRATULATIONS to this year’s winners of this year’s wildfire mitigation awards, but especially to our FireWise Ambassadors Peggy Beach from Loma Linda in Pagosa, Les Kole from Deer Valley near Bayfield, and the team effort of the East Canyon Ambassadors Phillip and Linda Walters, Odin Christensen, Gem Boone, Jeff Schaeffer, Jan DeLipsey, Keith Payden, and Ken and Pam Surbian (from Elk Stream and Elk Spring Ranches in Montezuma County). FireWise and your communities are lucky to have you!! Colorado scored well this year, receiving six of the 12 awards given. Congrats also to Jonathan Bruno from Coalition for the Upper South Platte, Summit County government, and Tom Austin with Log Hill Fire in Ridgeway. Nice job everyone!

And lastly the Florida Forest Service website described these 2015 Florida Forest Service Prescribed Fire Program accomplishments, which helped them achieve this award:

During the previous year, the Florida Forest Service treated more than 246,000 acres of state forests with prescribed fire, the highest number ever reported by a state forestry agency in United States history. In addition to its efforts on state forest lands, the Florida Forest Service also oversees the issuance of prescribed burning authorizations and administers Florida’s Certified Prescribed Burn Manager program. Currently, there are more than 1,600 certified prescribed burn managers who manage more than 2.3 million acres of agricultural and natural lands annually with prescribed fire.

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Want to repost this story? Please contact our communications manager.

One thought on “Congratulations Wildfire Mitigation Awardees!”

Leave a Reply

Per our policy comments are manually approved by a website administrator and may take some time to appear. Your email address will not be published when you comment.

Required fields are marked with an asterisk.