Fire Adapted Communities Learning Network Fire Adapted Communities Learning Network


Member Directory

  • organization
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Region 10

Federal Agency

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Region 10

FEMA 130-228th ST SW Bothell, WA 98021

Website Email
FEMA 130-228th ST SW
WA 98021
  • Business wildfire resilience
  • Communications/outreach
  • Community Wildfire Protection Plans
  • Fire prevention education
  • Firefighter/ Fire department
  • Firewise Communities / Defensible space
  • Ignition-resistant home construction
  • Wildfire recovery
  • Wildfire risk assessment
  • WUI codes and ordinances

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) supports tribes, states, territories, and communities before, during, and after disasters.

There are a number of programs and technical services that FEMA offers to assist communities with fire adaptation initiatives. Eligibility requirements vary by program to receive assistance.

Assistance to Firefighter Grants (AFG): Communities can apply for funds through the AFG Program which includes the Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG), Fire Prevention & Safety (FP &S), and Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER).

Fire Management Assistance Grants (FMAG): The Fire Management Assistance Grant Program (FMAGP) provides a 75 percent Federal cost share and the State pays the remaining 25 percent for actual costs. Before a grant can be awarded, a State must demonstrate that total eligible costs for the declared fire meet or exceed either the individual fire cost threshold. Eligible firefighting costs may include expenses for field camps; equipment use, repair and replacement; tools, materials and supplies; and mobilization and demobilization activities.

Natural Hazard Mitigation Planning Program: Mitigation Plan are the cornerstone for community’s to develop their resilience vision. This program offers technical assistance from FEMA and State staff or through electronic resources in the FEMA library in developing sound mitigation plans and planning programs.

Risk MAP: The Risk MAP program is FEMA’s mapping, assessment, and planning program. The program offers technical and funding in the development of multi-hazard risk assessments, and in how to communicate risk, review and/or develop codes, and offers training to increase local capabilities.

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants: The primary mitigation grants offered through the Hazard Mitigation Assistance grants programs, and as they relate to wildfire, are the Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant program and Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). Eligibly projects include retrofitting ignition resistant materials, creating defensible space, and fuels reduction. Jurisdictions with a FEMA approved natural hazard mitigation plans are eligible to apply for these grants.

Recovery Planning: Recovery Planning technical assistance is offered through FEMA’s Community Planning and Capacity Building Recovery Support Function. Each FEMA region has a designated lead that can work with states and local communities in addresses recovery planning, both pre- and post-disaster.

Training: FEMA offers the “Fire Adapted Communities” course at the National Fire Academy or through field modules.